One month in blogging: A Million Dollar Blog Project Report

11 Jan

So it’s been one month since I soft-launched my blog A simply good life. A lot has happened in one short month.

First, I have learned, that just like anything else, to be a great blogger takes a lot of time and effort. Taking the easy way out rarely results in success. I have put more time into research to find the best stats and multimedia to create original content. I hold myself to high standard, and believe my readers deserve the best. I hope I can deliver.

Secondly, blogging means you are part of a community. I have made a large effort to learn about more blogs in my niche and comment regularly on those blogs. I also have reached out to a few for guest posts and interviews, to some success. I need to be doing more of this, and that means more research to find more blogs.

Interviewing the right people can have great positive results. When I interview key players my views always jumped. I have a few more people in mind to deliver further traffic to my blog. Unfortunately, people who write about simple lifestyles rarely utilize social media properly and thus the net gain isn’t as great as say someone I interviewed about marketing. Moving forward I will have to be strategic about selecting people for not only the best content, but also greater reach.

Investing a few dollars where it matters can pay off in dividends. I bought my first ad for my blog somewhat on a whim. It was a minimal investment, but has delivered solid referrals day after day. As someone with a PR background I am somewhat averse to paying for referrals, but I am glad I made this decision. Spurred on by my success, I also created an extremely targeted Facebook ad for my blog’s fan page. Utilizing social validation I hope to make new friends, and new readers, there.

Site stats by the numbers December 2011/January 2012:

Monthly Visitors: 866

Monthly Unique Visitors: 743

Monthly Page Views: 1,557

Average time on the site: 1:27

Bounce Rate: 63.97%

Looking forward I hope to continue to build momentum. I am putting the finishing touches on a short ebook/handbook/manifesto that I hope will spur more readers, with planned release in the next two weeks. I have a speaking engagement, blog interview, video interview and guest post coming up that I hope will all deliver some more readers and allow me to promote my free book.

I am sorely lacking in video skills, which became apparent when several of my interview requests said they’d do it via skype. I know how to do this (sorta) but really need to brush up my skills before seriously tackling this. I did the interviews via email and missed out on opportunities. I know it’s something I must do for my blog to be successful.

So next on my to do list is:

1. Find more relevant blogs/bloggers to build relationships with.

2. Finish my short ebook and release it.

3. Learn how to Skype (and record it) at an acceptable, professional level.

Finally, I just downloaded Problogger’s 31 Days to a Better Blog and intend on implementing everything I possibly can over the next month. This will keep up a challenging, but achievable pace that I hope to maintain over the next few months.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Responses to “One month in blogging: A Million Dollar Blog Project Report”

  1. Complete Niche Blogs (@completeNiche) March 7, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Pretty! This has been a really wonderful article. Many thanks for providing these details. Very useful advice within this Complete Niche Blogs
    ! It is the little changes which will make the most important changes. Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What does success look like in personal blogging? « Reflections in a Puddle - January 15, 2012

    […] One month in blogging: A Million Dollar Blog Project Report (twotalkingcats.wordpress.com) Advertisement LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "333333"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "265e15"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "ededed"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "996633"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "technology"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "blog"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "blogging"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "success-in-personal-blogging"); LD_AddSlot("wpcom_below_post"); LD_GetBids(); Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

